By going through our Buoy List, we are meeting very inspirational and intriguing people and the journey of the Buoy is made of heartwarming stages.

When we were writing about watercolor painting and intuitive painting,  we came  across a work of art by Atonie H. Los, an artist from Canada. We were won over by his creations filled with humanity and spirituality. We asked him some questions about his technique and what inspires his painting.

We thank him greatly for opening up so nicely his workshop to us. 

The Buoy Blog: We are intrigued: How did you  come up with the title of your blog?
Antonie H. Los: Because my surname is identical to Los Angeles, Los Alamos and many, many other very populous and popular names and places, I felt the need to create a name which would be unique to anyone using a search engine. In a book written by Selwyn Dewdney (a man I admire greatly) titled, ‘The Sacred Scrolls of the Southern Ojibway” is the legend of the Great Bear who gave mankind spirit. His name was Masqua. Overall, my paintings hint towards that same spirit which, according to Native American tradition, exists in all things.

TBB: Why did you choose acrylic painting?
AHL: I began painting with oils at a very young age… about when I was 10. Being an impatient young boy, two things irritated me with that medium. The first is that it took far too long to dry and that smearing was a real possibility through carelessness, and washing it out of my clothes was not something my mother enjoyed. The second reason was the solvents used to thin the oils in that they did not please my throat or nostrils. The smell also permeated the house.

Acrylics solved both those problems.

TBB: What techniques do you use? It is the same if you decide to paint dreams, portraits, or landscapes?
AHL: Yes. All my works are a development of a single technique. I use a process of multiple layers of thinned paint and complete the process by sanding and polishing. I doubt I’ll ever stray far from that method as the results please me.

TBB: Your inspiration comes from very different cultures and philosophies. What is the connection between Native  American stories to Jung’s philosophy, or particles accelerator ? How can you combine them?
AHL: This is a question which will take quite a lot of explanation and I am prepared to tackle it with you over time… but it will take time. What I require more than anything from you is questions. However, here is the short answer:

Jung explores the human mind. That is the one part of us which is the same for all peoples and cultures everywhere on our planet over all of our history. He studied our creativity and inventiveness, our beliefs and religions, and our capacity for understanding what dreams are.

Native Americans also take care with their dreams, as do the earliest African tribes, Australian aborigines, and just about every other culture which has remained with us from the earliest time of human awareness.

If I seem to dwell on the Native Americans a bit more than the others, then that is because they physically surround me where I live. Their culture has become increasingly known to me personally to the degree where I have gone out of my way to get to know some of them personally. One who has had the greatest impact on me was William Commanda, a name which, even after his recent passing, is dear to me.

CG Jung, William Commanda, Selwyn Dewdney and JD Lewis-Williams have had the greatest impact on my art. I hope you will look into these people for online material so that you will be able to ask the right questions of me.

TBB: Do you have routine before you paint like meditation, or a walk in nature?
AHL: My waking life today is always a meditation as I am retired and no longer need a job to put food on the table or a roof over my head. For me, meditation no longer requires the ringing of my little brass bell and silence because my life has become one of quiet reflection. Even now, as I type this, the only sounds I hear are the tapping of the keys, the rain on the windows, distant traffic and the ticking of the clock in the dining room.

I love the wilderness though, and cherish the silence of a canoe more than anything else. To glide quietly past scenes of beauty reflected in the waters makes my heart sing and, when I see wild animals , unfrightened and peacefully doing what they do, then I am most at home in this world.

I hope I have given you some food for thought and cause more questions to rise in your consciousness.

——

You can find Antonie on his blog Masqua’s Art
http://masqua.ca/

To find out more about:

William Commanda
An Algonquin chief, activist and humanist
http://www.angelfire.com/ns/circleofallnations/page2.html

An article on CBC news
http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/keeper-of-the-wampum-william-commanda-algonquin-elder-1.988042

Selwyn Dewdney
Wikipidia has an easy to read presentation
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Selwyn_Dewdney

CG Jung
Swiss psychiatric and psychotherapist, founded  analytical psychology

CJ Jung Fondation in New York
http://www.cgjungny.org/

JD Lewis-Williams

South African Scholar, Buschmen religion  and art specialit, author of “Discovering Southern African Rock Art”

Here in, an interview in New Statesman on god, belief and religion
http://www.newstatesman.com/books/2010/04/interview-god-belief-religion

