As mentioned in my previous post, my neighbor Heather agreed to sit with me and to talk to me about her pathway to yoga.

Kahtleen: How long have you been practicing yoga?

Heather: I started as a student in 2004. I never took a yoga class in my life.  All I wanted to do was have something for myself one night a week in which I could take a class.  I fell in love with it after the first class. In 2006, I got my first certification which was to teach yoga to children.

K:  You call your yoga H.A.L.O. yoga.  What does that mean?

H:  H is for Health, A is for Alignment, L is for Lymphatic system, and O is for Organs. Yoga helps keep the spine in alignment, the organs healthy,  the lymphatic fluids flowing all which helps our overall health

K: Can anyone practice yoga?

H: Anybody.  If someone has physical limitations sitting on a floor or is in a wheelchair, there is chair yoga.

K: What health benefits does yoga have?

H: Yoga is good for helping to relieve arthritis, diabetes symptoms, asthma, anxiety/depression, high blood pressure, digestion/metabolism

K: What would you say to someone who is hesitant about trying yoga?

H: There is a type of yoga for everyone.  Try different teachers and find a class that’s good for YOU.  Have patience with yourself and allow yourself the time to gain strength and flexibility. The more you practice, the better you will get at it.  Let your mind just go.

Heather added that yoga is a huge stress reliever, and when she teaches yoga, “it feels good to help people.”

