While reading a magazine recently, I came across a brief article that highlighted that the first week of February was “Random Acts of Kindness Week.”  This caught my attention because I don’t really give it a second thought when I do something for others; usually an act of kindness is spontaneous when an opportunity presents itself.

Nevertheless, I thought the article brought up a good point that we have the ability to do something nice for others without them expecting it and by doing something nice for others, we do something nice for ourselves.   I decided to challenge myself for a week to see how many random acts I could accomplish.

I have to admit that I was only able to complete 3 acts, but I know that I don’t have to limit myself to just one week out of the year to be randomly kind to others.

My random acts of kindness:

1. Treated a friend to lunch who wasn’t expecting it
2. Let the woman behind me at the grocery store check-out line who only had a handful of items go in front of me
3. While driving on the highway, I let a car merge into my lane while I was exiting- for those of you that drive in New Jersey, you will understand this one.

randomactsofkindness.org  has many great ideas for more than just one day or one week of kindness to others.  I hope you find it inspiring.

Kathleen
Buoy Blogger

There is also a world kindness movement

http://www.theworldkindnessmovement.org/

kitten

