We all have tendency to worry too much and we expect things to be worst than they actually are. We envision cataclysm that will never come. Our head can see in cinemascope the terrible ending of our dreams and we spend more time worrying than doing, thinking nervously “what if…” in a non-creative way.

What if I take this new job and I am not good enough
What if I visit my mom and she puts me down again
What if my kids’ school is in the path of a dinosaur
What if my kids succeed in school
What if they fail
What will people think if I put these pants on

Sometimes it’s ok to think ahead and anticipate situations, but sometimes it’s not worth it, because there are things we have no power to control.

Like …

The weather
The future
Time
Our kids (yes, they are independent living human beings and they will follow their own path!)
What other people think
The comportment and reactions of other people, especially relatives, friends or colleagues

Here are five quotes to help you –a little- going through an anxious time.

“Worry is like a rocking chair: it gives you something to do but it doesn’t get you anywhere.”
Harold Stephens

“Worry never robs tomorrow of its sorrow, it only saps today of its joy.”
Leo F. Buscaglia

“Every evening I turn my worries over to God. He’s going to be up all night anyway.”
Mary C. Crowley

“Worry often gives a small thing a big shadow.”
Proverb

« We should manage this simple wisdom of considering the darkness we head to with the same kind of anguish we got from the darkness we came from.  In this way, life takes its real meaning: a time of light.
Paul Guimard

Step back, relax and enjoy  your summer!

Florence
Buoy blogger

